Informe Robinson: Campeones del Mundo VII

We’ve reached the end of the Informe Robinson: Campeones del Mundo special… Make sure to catch the bloopers at the end of the video, which is full of laughter, lighting problems, and even a little bit of Javi (♥) doing his best impression of Michael Robinson…

Aquí esta la última parte del especial, Inform Robinson: Campeones del Mundo… No dejen de ver los bloopers lleno de risas, problemas técnicos, y hasta vemos a Javi (♥) imitando a Michael Robinson…

Xavi Hernández:  Jesús Navas had the ball and made a 30 meter run up the wing…

Jesús Navas: When I got the ball, I ran up the pitch, pass the halfway line, and it took a bounce off someone…

Andrés Iniesta: And, just as the ball comes to me, I kick a backheel pass to Cesc…

Cesc Fábregas:  I pass it to Jesús…

JN: And I see that Torres is wide open in the flank…

Fernando Torres: And I see Andrés who has slipped past one of their fullbacks… and the ball doesn’t reach him and it’s intercepted…

CF:  The ball calls to me, and I saw Andrés there… and well, I’m not saying it was easy, but he was in a good position, diagonal to me, to where I could make a pass to him…

AI:  Everything stops, and it’s just me and the ball… Sort of like when you see an instant replay in slow motion… That’s what it was for me… It’s hard to hear the silence, but in that moment, I heard the silence and I knew the ball was going in…

FT:  And he scored the goal to end all goals…

Raúl Martínez: And I ask: “Who was it?!?” And the told me, “Andresito!” It was Andrés, it was Andrés… [laughing]

AI:  In that moment, you have no idea what you’re even saying…

Pepe Reina:  I threw myself on top of Cesc, and Cesc gasped, “I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe! I can’t breathe!” But nobody gave a crap! [giggles]

AI: In that moment the only thing I could think of was to spend as much time celebrating so that the match would end sooner!

[Fernando Torres is clear on goal, but then stops short, injured.]

FT: I thought that it was something serious, because I’ve had many muscle tears before, and none of them were quite like that… and I just couldn’t believe it, you know? I didn’t want to open my eyes… I could hear Raúl and Dr. Cota, and when I finally opened my eyes, I was in the dressing room, on the treatment bed…

[The referee blows the whistle for full time]

Juan Cota: And, with both of us in tears, I told him, “Fernando, you’re a world champion, you have to go out and celebrate with your team.”

FT: And, I wanted to, but I couldn’t walk…

JC:  And I remember walking down the Soccer City tunnel with him, the two of us together, talking about being the champions of the world…

FT: And I thought, “Was it really worth all of that to win the World Cup?” For me, it was.

AI:  I looked up at the sky and fell to my knees… and, in that moment, I cried like I never cried before, when Víctor Valdés came up to me…

Víctor Valdés:  I saw Andrés as overcome with emotion as he had been that day in training, except that this time, he was overcome with happiness – the contrast between the two filled me with emotion as well.  And watching him cry tears of joy, after the year he’d suffered through… for me, it felt as good as if I’d scored the winning goal myself, or even better.

IC: Crying… crying with happiness, crying because you’ve achieved a dream you’ve had since you were a kid.  After listening to all the naysayers, after listening to all the nonsense, after listening to all the garbage about how Spain could never win the World Cup, about how Spain could never succeed on the world stage.  For everything we’ve lived through… for everything I had gone through…

CP:  I do remember el mister saying something really surprised me… when we hugged, he said to me, “you can’t retire from the national team now, you have to at least reach the 100 game mark!” And I was really touched, because we had just won the World Cup, and for him to even think of my retirement at a time like that… it really touched me.

Joan Capdevila: What really touched me was seeing my parents cry. I had never actually seen them cry before, you know? Just thinking about it… it makes me tear up a little right now…

CF: She said to me, “I’m your mother!” I saw my mother there, my grandfather, my sister, too, and my father yelling, “Hey, I’m your father!”… and I was like, madre mía

IC: You see the Cup and you’re like, “Uf, I can’t believe it!”

Capdevila: I remember the first thing I did was kiss it and say “You’re mine now!”

David Villa: It seemed like we would never see a Spaniard lift the World Cup in his hands, you know?

IC: When I was a kid, I saw Matthäus lift it, I saw Dunga lift it, I saw Deschamps lift it, I saw Cafu lift it, then Cannavaro… and when Sepp Blatter handed me the World Cup, and I thrust it into the air… I could watch that moment again tomorrow, three years from now, ten years from now, and I’d still be completely overcome by emotion because, I’m telling you, there is absolutely nothing like that memory.

Sergio Ramos: To be able to kiss it, to lift it above your head, to know that you are a champion… I’m still not used to seeing the mini replica World Cup on my nightstand… there is nothing that can compare to that…

XH: It’s the feeling of knowing that we changed football for the better… It’s not just that Spain winning and making people happy… but knowing that we marked an era.

GP: It’s the feeling of knowing that we created a team, a group of friends, who won the World Cup together and that it will always be with us, as the Spanish national team. Many people called it a victory for Barcelona, but it was a Spanish victory. Sure, there were eight of us from Barça, but there were 15 other players who weren’t.

[The celebration in Madrid]

PR: I had never seen anything like it and I don’t think I’ll ever see anything like it again. I mean, an entire  country united – I think it can only be accomplished by football.

Vicente del Bosque: I was touched that people from so many different countries felt Spanish and enjoyed the success of the Spanish national team with us… I think it’s a great way to create a sense of belonging…  [Michael Robinson gestures to himself] you, first and foremost, no? It’s true!

PR: That an entire country could forget everything else, for two, three, four days…

AI: I think that after the year I had had and then, to end it in such a way… I could never have imagined it. It makes me happy to know that not only will I be remembered, but that Dani Jarque will also be remembered.

Emili Ricart: [Tearing up] He’s a great person… That’s all I can say.

AI: Everything that people see is what my parents have taught me. Feeling happy as a person is more important than any trophy… That’s how I see it. 

Michael Robinson:  This brings us to the end of the story of the unforgettable summer of 2010. Allow me to thank everyone who gave their all in order to make millions of Spaniards happy.  This is Informe Robinson. It has been a pleasure. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

