Why do we all love Juan Mata?

Because he has displayed intelligence, sensibility, and chivalry since his arrival in Valencia and continues to do so four years later during his move to Chelsea*… Check out the video of Juan Mata’s farewell press conference and my translation below!

Juan Mata se ha comportado con inteligencia, sensibilidad, y caballerosidad desde el primer día en que llegó al Valencia y continua comportándose de esa manera durante  su traspaso al Chelsea*…  ¡Sigan leyendo para ver el vídeo de su despedida en la conferencia de prensa!

~~~

*Those baby blues don’t hurt either! // Claro, cualquier excusa para ver fotos de el adorable Juan Mata (y esos ojos, ¡pol diox!)…

I don’t know where to start, how to express into words what I have experienced these past four years in Valencia. I’ll try not to forget anyone… I want to express my deepest gratitude to the valencianismo, to all of the people with whom I have shared these past four wonderful years. First of all, I want to thank the club for placing their trust in a 19 year old from a second division team – I understand how difficult it is for a demanding club like Valencia, to trust such a young man and they did so. I would also like to thank president Manual Llorente for the conversations we shared this summer, were I declined and rejected more economically beneficial offers that were less profitable for the club and spoke to him when Chelsea showed interest in me to know if it would be beneficial for the club. My exit is full of sadness, but the payoff for the club and my continued growth as I take a step in learning about another country and another football league came at the right moment. So I spoke to Llorente about Chelsea’s offer as it was an important one. With the situation in the club, we did what made the most sense.

I want to thank the teammates whom I have shared a locker room with for the past four years, some of whom are here with me and whom I consider my friends and some of whom I wasn’t as close to. Thanks to all of you, I was able to fulfill my dream of becoming captain of this club. You will always be with me. To everyone who works with Valencia club, who, without a doubt, make it one of the best in the world. I don’t want to forget the press, I think these four seasons you have proven the greatness of this club and to the fans, thank you for the good times and for helping me improve during the not so great times.

Lastly, I want to say goodbye to the fans. I still remember arriving in the summer of 2007, having hardly any playing time, when people came up to me on the street telling me they were looking forward to seeing the kid who had come from Madrid. You have been incredible with me. I have no words to describe what you have given me and how much you have helped me throughout the years. In Valencia, I have a home, friends, family, and an incredible group of supporters. Thank you for everything you have done for me.  And I wish the club the very best, I’m sure that our wishes will be fulfilled and I hope we meet in the final of the Champions. I will rejoice in your victories and will suffer your losses. Thank you for the last four years.

What do you see in Valencia’s future?

I came here when I was 19 and shared a dressing room with important players on an international level like Villa, Silva, Marchena and Baraja. And I leave a team with the same level of talent. The future of Valencia is good. They have signed young, talented players. This is a great group and I wish them all the luck in the world.

What goal and what moment will you always remember?

They all took place in the same game. My first year in Valencia, we won the Copa del Rey where I scored a goal in the final. I thought that we would win a title every year, but I later realized that it wasn’t going to be easy. That day, I scored a goal and raised the Cup.

How did it feel to say goodbye?

On the one hand, I felt sadness when I said goodbye to my teammates. It’s always hard to say goodbye, but I need to see it as an exciting challenge where I get to start a new career in a new league. I feel sad saying goodbye to everyone here in Valencia.

People will remember you not only as a great player, but as a great person.

It makes me proud to hear that. I’ve always tried to be the same guy I’ve always been and hope to do the same in England. If the fans think I’m a good person, I’m proud to hear it. I hope I’m remembered as a professional who gave everything for Valencia. I’m proud to have represented Valencia during the World Cup and to now be a world champion.

When did you realize that it was time to leave Valencia?

When I heard about Chelsea’s interest, I spoke with Llorente to see if it was a good offer for the club. I never imagined I would leave, but with a club of this nature, it makes you ask yourself if it’s time to start a new adventure. I’m proud to have helped my club financially with my two cents.

Have you cried?

No, but I am filled with emotion and grief. On the one hand, I’m enthusiastic for the new adventure that awaits, but saying goodbye to everyone here today, with everything Valencia has given me, it’s normal to feel a sadness.

How important was Fernando Torres during your signing?

When he learned from Chelsea that they were interested in signing me, he called me and told me that his hope was that I would go and that it could be a great opportunity for me.



Leave a Reply

